Appendix III: Membership of the Committee of Experts in:

Cornelis Hulsman, Diana Serodio (Ed.)

The 2014 Egyptian Constitution, page 145 - 146

Perspectives from Egypt

1. Edition 2017, ISBN print: 978-3-8288-3838-3, ISBN online: 978-3-8288-6933-2,

Series: Anwendungsorientierte Religionswissenschaft, vol. 10

Tectum, Baden-Baden
Bibliographic information
Appendix III: Membership of the Committee of Experts The Committee of Experts, also known as the Committee of Ten, consisted of six senior judges and four constitutional law professors, the latter of which were appointed by the Supreme Council of Egyptian Universities. Senior Judges Counselor Muhammad ' Id Mahjub Vice President of the Court of Cassation and Secretary General of the Higher Council of Judges Dr. Hasan al-Sayyid Basyuni Head of the Court of Appeals Counselor Muhammad 'Abd al-'Aziz Shinnawi Vice President of the Constitutional Court Dr. Muhammad Khayri Taha Vice-President of the Constitutional Court Dr. Issam al-Din 'Abd al- 'Aziz First Vice-President of the State Council Counselor Majdl al-'Ajati Vice-President of the State Council Professors o fC on stitu tional Law Dr. Fathi Fikri School of Law at Cairo University Dr. Hamdi 'All 'Umar Dean of the Law School at Zagazig University Dr. Salah al-Din Fawzi School of Law at Mansoura University Dr. 'AH Abd al-'Al School of Law at Ain Shams University 145

Chapter Preview



After President Hosni Mubarak was toppled in 2011, discussions followed immediately regarding the revision of the Egyptian Constitution. Islamist political groups insisted that Parliamentary and Presidential elections should precede the formation of a new Constitution, aiming to use their momentum to gain the upper hand in the Constitutional Assembly. Non-Islamists believed that representatives from all layers of society must first formulate a new Constitution before elections should be held. Out of this struggle emerged the 2012 Constitution, a document deeply influenced by Islamist political ideas and goals. Dissatisfied with the proceedings, the non-Islamists walked out of the Constitutional Assembly before the Constitution was finalized. In attempts to reconcile the alienated non-Islamist factions, and heal a divided Egyptian society, the Egyptian Constitution of 2014 was created. All efforts were made to avoid a similar walk-out from Islamist factions. Various political actors were interviewed during, and shortly after the 2014 constitutional formation process. This book is essential reading for anyone wishing to understand the discussions and debates surrounding the formation of the 2014 Constitution. This book follows and complements the previous books in the series on recent religious and political developments in Egypt, in particular Vol. 3 The Sharia as the Main Source of Legislation? (2012), Vol. 8 Rise and Fall of the Muslim Brotherhood 2011-2013 (2016), Vol. 9 From Ruling to Opposition 2011-2013 (2017).